List of UEFA Super Cup Winners


The Union of European Football Association (UEFA) is the sanctioning body of the UEFA Super Cup since 1971. The competition features the champions of the two most prestigious tournaments the UEFA Champions League and the UEFA Europa League.

Initially, during the 1972 to 1999 period, the UEFA Super Cup was held between the winners of the UEFA Champions League (previously called European Cup) and the winners of the UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup. Later, after the termination of the UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup, the competition is being conducted by the reigning champions of the UEFA Champions League and the UEFA Cup, which is now known as the UEFA Europa League since 2009.

The First Unofficial UEFA Super Cup Match
On establishing the UEFA Super Cup, a final match took place between the Netherland’s Ajax and Scotland’s Rangers in the 1971-72 season. This season was not officially approved since the Rangers were banned from European competition because of the behavior of their fans during the 1972 UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup Final.

As a result, UEFA denied the approval of the competition until the following season. It was played in two legs, with the first leg played on 16 January 1973 and the second leg was held on 24 January 1973. The combined score of the two legs was 6-3, (3–1 in Glasgow and 3–2 in Amsterdam) with Ajax winning the first ever unofficial European Super Cup.

Which Teams played the First Official UEFA Super Cup Match?
The 1972-1973 European Super Cup is considered the first official UEFA Super Cup tournament, which was played by the 1972–73 European Cup winners Ajax and 1972–73 UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup winners Milan. Ajax won the match on an aggregate score of 6–1. This defeat for the Italian club Milan was the worst defeat for an Italian team in a UEFA competition final.

Which Club is Considered the Most Successful Team in the UEFA Super Cup?
The two most successful teams in the UEFA Super Cup are the Spanish club Barcelona and the Italian club AC Milan. Both the teams have won the trophy five times each. The recent win for the Barca was in the 2014-15 season against Sevilla 5-4, whereas the recent win for the Milan team was in 2006-07 against Sevilla 3-1.

The Spanish club Atletico Madrid is the reigning champion, after defeating Real Madrid 4-2 in the 2018 UEFA Super Cup. This was Atletico’s third win, with their previous two wins in the 2009-10 season and 2011-12 season.

UEFA Super Cup Winning Records
So far, Barca has made 9 appearances in the UEFA Super Cup, with 5 wins and 4 defeats. Barcelona’s last appearance in the competition was the most remarkable one, which ended up as a 5-4 win against Sevilla, with Pedro scoring the winning goal.

The 7-time Champions League winners AC Milan have won the UEFA Super Cup a record of 5 times, missing the trophy twice in 1973, and 1993. The Real Madrid club has won the title 4 times in 2002, 2014, 2016, and 2017 and has lost the competition twice.

The only English club Liverpool has won the silverware on three occasions in 1977, 2001, and 2005, while faced defeat in 1978, and 1984 to Anderlecht and Juventus, respectively. Their most remarkable win came in 2005 against CSKA when they scored a 3-1 win in extra time. Liverpool are the winners of the UEFA Super for the forth time after beating Chelsea 5-4 on penalties after a 2-2 draw in the 2019 match in Istanbul.

The legendary Dutch football club Ajax took part in the UEFA Super Cup thrice, winning on two occasions in 1973 against Milan, and in 1995 against Real Zaragoza. They lost the competition once against Porto in 1987.

Why wasn’t the UEFA Super Cup held in 1974, 1981, and 1985?
The UEFA Super Cup was not contested in 1974, 1981 and 1985, due to various reasons. The 1974 Super Cup was terminated because Bayern Munich and Magdeburg could not fix a common date for the match. The 1981’s competition was stopped as Liverpool could not fix a convenient date to meet Dinamo Tbilisi.

The 1985’s tournament was abandoned because of a ban imposed on the English clubs’ to participate in the competition because of which team Everton could not play against Juventus. The two-legged format was followed till 1997, but the winners of the Super Cup were decided in one single match in 1984, 1986 and 1991 because of schedule issues or political problems.

Complete List of the UEFA Super Cup Winners
The UEFA Super Cup is dominated by the Spanish clubs – 14 wins, with the reigning champion (Atletico Madrid) and the runner-up team (Real Madrid) being two Spanish clubs. Listed down below is the complete list of the UEFA Super Cup since the inception of the competition in 1971.

UEFA Super Cup Winners List
Year Winner Country Runner-up Country Score
1972 Ajax Netherlands Rangers Scotland 3–1
1973 Ajax Netherlands Milan Italy 0–1
1974 Bayern Munich and Magdeburg did not play.
1975 Dynamo Kyiv Soviet Union Bayern Munich West Germany 1–0
1976 Anderlecht Belgium Bayern Munich West Germany 1–2
1977 Liverpool England Hamburg West Germany 1–1
1978 Anderlecht Belgium Liverpool England 3–1
1979 Nottingham Forest England Barcelona Spain 1–0
1980 Valencia Spain Nottingham Forest England 1–2
1981  Liverpool and  Dinamo Tbilisi did not play.
1982 Aston Villa England Barcelona Spain 0–1
3–0 (a.e.t.)
1983 Aberdeen Scotland Hamburg West Germany 0–0
1984 Juventus Italy Liverpool England 2–0
1985  Juventus and  Everton did not play.
1986 Steaua București Romania Dynamo Kyiv Soviet Union 1–0
1987 Porto Portugal Ajax Netherlands 1–0
1988 Mechelen Belgium PSV Eindhoven Netherlands 3–0
1989 Milan Italy Barcelona Spain 1–1
1990 Milan Italy Sampdoria Italy 1–1
1991 Manchester United England Red Star Belgrade Yugoslavia 1–0
1992 Barcelona Spain Werder Bremen Germany 1–1
1993 Parma Italy Milan Italy 0–1
2–0 (a.e.t.)
1994 Milan Italy Arsenal England 0–0
1995 Ajax Netherlands Zaragoza Spain 1–1
1996 Juventus Italy Paris Saint-Germain France 6–1
1997 Barcelona Spain Borussia Dortmund Germany 2–0
1998 Chelsea England Real Madrid Spain 1–0
1999 Lazio Italy Manchester United England 1–0
2000 Galatasaray Turkey Real Madrid Spain 2–1 (a.e.t.)
2001 Liverpool England Bayern Munich Germany 3–2
2002 Real Madrid Spain Feyenoord Netherlands 3–1
2003 Milan Italy Porto Portugal 1–0
2004 Valencia Spain Porto Portugal 2–1
2005 Liverpool England CSKA Moscow Russia 3–1 (a.e.t.)
2006 Sevilla Spain Barcelona Spain 3–0
2007 Milan Italy Sevilla Spain 3–1
2008 Zenit Saint Petersburg Russia Manchester United England 2–1
2009 Barcelona Spain Shakhtar Donetsk Ukraine 1–0 (a.e.t.)
2010 Atlético Madrid Spain Internazionale Italy 2–0
2011 Barcelona Spain Porto Portugal 2–0
2012 Atlético Madrid Spain Chelsea England 4–1
2013 Bayern Munich Germany Chelsea England 2–2 (a.e.t.)
2014 Real Madrid Spain Sevilla Spain 2–0
2015 Barcelona Spain Sevilla Spain 5–4 (a.e.t.)
2016 Real Madrid Spain Sevilla Spain 3–2 (a.e.t.)
2017 Real Madrid Spain Manchester United England 2–1
2018 Atlético Madrid Spain Real Madrid Spain 4–2 (a.e.t.)
2019 Liverpool England Chelsea England 5-4 (a.e.t.)

About Author

Leave A Reply

Join Our Official WhatsApp Group For Hot News