BREAKING: APC wins 2018 Osun Governorship election


All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship candidate in Osun State, Alhaji Isiaka Gboyega Oyetola, has been declared the winner of the governorship election held in the state.

Oyetola was returned winner after he successfully defeated the Peoples Democratic (PDP) candidate, Senator Ademola Nurudeen Adeleke, in the rerun election which took place in seven units of four local government councils in the state.

The rerun election took place in three poling units in Orolu, two units in Ife South, one unit in Ife North and one unit in Osogbo.

Declaring Oyetola winner of the rerun election, the returning Officer for the election, Joseph Adeola Fiwape, the Vice Chancellor of Federal University of Technology, (FUTA) Akure said the APC candidate won with total votes of 1,160 to beat the PDP candidate who polled paltry 325 votes from the seven units.

With the results of the rerun election and last exercise held on Sunday, the APC now scored total votes of 255,505 to defeat Senator Ademola Adeleke who now polled 255,023 votes to become runner up.

It would be recalled that senator Ademola Adeleke had in the last Saturday election declared inconclusive 254,689 votes while Oyetola had 254,345 votes and Senator Iyiola Omisore has 128,049 to place third position.

Going by the final results, APC candidate defeated Adeleeke with 482 votes.

Senator Omisore entered into agreement with APC for rerun election that gave APC candidate edge over PDP candidate, Senator Ademola Adeleke.



About Author

Leave A Reply

Join Our Official WhatsApp Group For Hot News